Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal

O Mary conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to thee.

O Mary conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to thee.

Without Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal, I would not be in this place today.  She was instrumental in my conversion and continued to guide me in my discernment.  Let me go back to the beginning.

When I first met Our Lady under the Miraculous Medal, I wasn’t Catholic yet.  I had just read the chapter of Scott Hahn’s “Rome Sweet Home” when he shares his first experiences praying the rosary.  I hadn’t yet decided to become Catholic, but I was open enough to try praying the rosary myself.  So, I went to the nearest Catholic book and gift store and looked at case after case of rosaries.  I was nervous.  Part of me felt like a kid sneaking out at night – a twinge of rebellion against my Protestant upbringing. 

As I looked over the colored beads, I didn’t quite know what I wanted, other than I was naively looking for something not so…well…Marian.  My eyes settled on a set of white, pearl beads and a centerpiece I couldn’t make out at the time.  I knew this was the rosary for me.  I grabbed a scriptural rosary booklet that had all the prayers and some Scripture meditations and went home with my purchase.  For several weeks, I spent time learning the prayers and praying my rosary.  I have no doubt the graces that flowed as a result of praying the rosary helped speed me along in my conversion.

Sometime after I realized God was calling me home to the Catholic Church, I was back in the Catholic store for a book.  This time I wandered through the medals and I gasped when I saw the centerpiece of my rosary gleaming up at me as a larger medal.  Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal.  I purchased the medal and have worn one ever since.

Over the years my devotion has grown.  When I first discerned my religious calling and learned my student loans would keep me from entering formation, I prayed for an answer and was led to The Labouré Society, a nonprofit, charitable organization under the patronage of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal and St. Catherine Labouré, the young religious sister who was given the design for the Medal by Our Lady.  I continue to ask for our Lady’s guidance, protection, and that she would obtain for me the graces I need to be free to enter formation and persevere in my vocation.

The feast day of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal is November 27th and today is the first day of the Novena to Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal.  A copy of the novena may be found here.  Would you join me in praying the novena?  Would you join me in praying Our Lady would intercede for me and my fellow aspirants, that we would meet our fundraising goals in the next 42 days?

Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal, intercede for us.

Leave a Reply

