Where the Rubber Meets the Road

April has been a blur.  It started gloriously with Easter, then continued to pick up speed.  My parents and I continued to paint, pack, reorganize and prep the house for sale, with my brother and his family coming over most every weekend to lend a helping hand.  The upside is the project is nearly done and the house will be listed on Monday!

But this also means much of my time outside of my full-time job was spent helping my family with this project and I’ve had less time to do my aspirancy work with The Labouré Society.  This week, I’m shifting gears and refocusing once again.  My fellow aspirants and I have only sixty days left to raise funds for vocations.  To date, nearly $7,000 has been donated or pledged in my honor.  I am so grateful, but I know I have a lot of work ahead of me in the next sixty days.  My TLS individual goal is to raise at least $45,000.  My hope was (and still is) to raise $65,000 for TLS in support of vocations before May 31st.  This means I have approximately $38,000, or $58,000, to go before May 31st.  The month of May is where the rubber meets the road.

Last fundraising term, I experienced God’s grace and the generosity of His people.  That has continued this term and I have met amazing people and been privileged to help build a culture of vocations.  But there is more to be done in the next sixty days. 

My plan and hope is to connect with more people, inviting them to help foster vocations to the Church.  I trust God to move hearts – I must.  My vocation is not my own.  It belongs to Him, it belongs to the Church.  I desire to give myself to Jesus, in prayer and penance, praying for others.  I can only offer my meager loaves and fishes He’s entrusted to me.  But I have confidence He will continue to move people to give to Him in support of vocations like mine.  Like a vocation to the priesthood or religious life, God calls His people to help support other members of the body of Christ and provide for their needs in accordance with the gifts and blessings He gives to each of us.  I trust He is inviting people right now to support vocations like mine by giving of their time, talent, and treasure in support of TLS.

Vocations like mine, like my fellow 16 aspirants, like the over 230 other aspirants before me, would not, and will not be free to begin formation without the support of the rest of the body of Christ, by people like you.  God is inviting each one of us to do our part.  If you are concerned about the shortage of vocations and feel a tugging to do something more, perhaps God is inviting you to support The Labouré Society by offering a donation (or pledge over time) and then invite your friends, family, and local Church to do the same. 

We have sixty days.  Will you say “yes!” to God’s invitation to you?

Leave a Reply

