Almost There!

This week, my fellow Laboure Society aspirants and I began our third trimester in our fundraising term.  We now have fewer than 10 weeks to reach our goals.  As of Monday of this week, thanks to prayers and financial support, my class has raised over $100,000 for priestly and religious vocations!  Over $21,845 has been donated in my honor and another $500 pledged, leaving $22,655 until I reach my goal of $45,000 before December 31st.  To those who have partnered with me and The Laboure Society by offering prayers, donations, and helping me make contacts with others who are interested in supporting vocations, thank you.  I am so very grateful and keep you in my daily prayers.

Some would say, that’s such a large amount left!  I prefer to look at how far we’ve come.  I say “we” because every person who offers a prayer for our vocations, who offers a financial gift, who assists by offering time to like and share our posts on social media or making introductions to others who they feel might support the work of The Laboure Society, is an essential part of what we’ve accomplished thus far.  Each of you were prompted by the Holy Spirit to offer something of yourselves, of the gifts entrusted to you by God, in support of vocations, and you answered that call.  So, again, thank you.

And, here’s another way of looking at the amount left: we can reach the individual goal of $45,000 in any number of scenarios: 2 people giving $11,000, 10 people giving $2,200, 22 people giving $1,000, 100 people giving $220, 220 people giving $100… you get the idea. 

Throughout this process, I am reminded of the story of Jesus feeding the 5,000.  Recall that a multitude had followed Jesus to the middle of nowhere.  It was getting late in the day and the disciples asked Jesus to send the people home so they could eat.  Jesus’ response: you feed them.  I’m sure the disciples scratched their heads and perhaps thought Jesus had been out in the hot, desert sun too long.  How are we supposed to meet this enormous need and feed all these people?!  Jesus responded, bring me what you have.  In a group of over 5,000, only one small boy offered his meager meal: five loaves and two fish.  Jesus blessed it, and began to break it into pieces, giving it to the disciples, who in turn, fed the people, with baskets of bread and fish left over after everyone had eaten their fill. 

God works the same today.  The Holy Spirit gives us talents and treasure as He sees fit and in turn, invites us to offer it back to Him, by putting ourselves and our talents and gifts at the service of others.  God truly works miracles and then feeds us in abundance with what we need.  If the Holy Spirit is moving you to do something for vocations, whether it’s offering prayers, financial offerings, or helping spread the word, whatever it might be, God will not waste it and He will never be outdone in generosity.

Next month, the Knights of Columbus Our Lady of the Snows Council is hosting a fundraising dinner for The Laboure Society in my honor.  If you are in the Anchorage area, please join us!  It will be at Holy Family Cathedral on Saturday, November 10th, after the Vigil Mass (Mass is at 5:30 p.m., dinner will begin at about 6:30 p.m.).  Fr. Augustine Hilander, OP will be speaking on vocations in the Church and I will be sharing my vocation story.  Dinner is complementary and all donations are going to The Laboure Society, in my honor, in support of priestly and religious vocations.

And I’d like to express my gratitude for two Catholic newspapers which recently ran follow-up stories on my vocation and The Laboure Society: Catholic Anchor and Catholic San Francisco.  It was a pleasure to speak with the two reporters, Effie Caldarola and George Raine, and to finally meet George Raine in person (we’d spoken on the telephone when he interviewed me a little over a year ago).  The articles may be found online at Catholic Anchor and Catholic San Francisco.

Please continue to keep me in prayer and help me finish strong.  We’re almost there!

Leave a Reply

