Bay Area Trip Recap

Last weekend, I went on a whirlwind trip to the Bay area!  My primary purpose: to share my vocation story as an example of vocations at risk of delay or being lost due to education loans, and to invite people to foster those vocations by supporting The Labouré Society.  For those who were praying for this trip – thank you!  God was certainly present and guided me through; I met some wonderful people and some fruit has already come of it. 

 After flying all night last Wednesday night/Thursday morning, I was a guest of the co-chaplain at a local Serra Club meeting – the Serra Club of Palo Alto.  I met some wonderful people, clearly committed to praying for and supporting vocations to the Church.  The Labouré Society founder and executive director Cy Laurent and I are the invited speakers at their October meeting, so continued prayers would be appreciated! 

 On Friday, the St. Thomas More Society of San Francisco sponsored a “brown bag” lunch and invited me to share about my journey from Evangelical to Catholic, practicing lawyer to aspiring nun.   We had a great discussion about vocations in the Church and the rising problem of educational loans to vocation discernment. Over the course of the extended weekend, I met with other individuals as well and gave two interviews for two Catholic newspapers (whether/when articles may be printed is unknown right now, but will share as I am able).

 I also spent some wonderful time visiting with the Dominican nuns at Corpus Christi Monastery.  Staying in their guest quarters, it was beautiful to be able to be able to pray the Divine Office with them again (as my appointment schedule permitted), attend Mass and spend time in prayer and adoration, and visit with the nuns in the parlor on Saturday.  Saturday turned out to be a free day for me, in terms of meetings and appointments, and it was bliss to be able to follow the rhythm of the day at the monastery.  The nuns have also posted a short post about my visit to their blog here.

 As I mentioned above, I will be returning over the first weekend in October, so I humbly ask for your continued prayers.  I pray and am hopeful my sharing might contribute to growing a culture of vocations by inviting people to support vocations through offering their prayers, donations, and/or helping spread the word about the hurdle of educational loans to vocations and the work of The Labouré Society.  While I have already received a couple pledges to donate to The Labouré Society from people I met last weekend, we’re at the halfway mark of the class term and I still have a way to go to reach my goal of raising $45,000 by December 31st.

 Thank you for your continued prayers and support.  If you haven’t already, please prayerfully consider whether God would have you give some of your treasure in support of vocations.  And please, invite your family, friends, parish community, and other acquaintances and organizations to learn more about The Labouré Society

 Let’s work together so every person called by God to the priesthood or religious life does not have educational loans as the sole reason for not being free to answer that call!

Leave a Reply

